This is the Chocolate Skateboards colorway of Justin Elridge’s eS Theory 1.5 designed by Evan Hecox. Er, this is really stupid, but I really like the purple type (especially on the interior) and the strap (I love straps)! The screenprinted laces, the stash pocket in the tongue, and the gel insert embedded in the sole are just perks.

The Story: Had these in my online cart for a long time, and evidently one day I ordered them but didn’t have any memory of doing so. I never received an order confirmation; they hid on backorder for a month. By the time I noticed the charge on my credit card – “I bought shoes?!?!” – they had shipped. I was determined to return them but when they arrived, I wound up liking them A LOT.



—-
On the subject of skateboards: Having one artist’s style show up consistently across pro decks helps to solidify the brand identity. Other skateboard companies put out some raaaandom designs that, sans logo, have no identifying characteristics. I’ve never bought a Chocolate deck, but Evan Hecox’s illustrations has always caught my eye:

Don Pendleton also known for his amazing themed decks [click to see a portion of his deck archive] for Alien Workshop & Element Skateboards. My favorite is this AWS Cubism series:

—-
These Theory 1.5’s will look much more worn soon enough. My mom has been wanting to go out and skate all week (by skate, I mean her on inline skates and me on a skateboard).

My Ricta Clouds finally arrived! The first thing I did was install them on a spare deck and go for a joyride around the house. For those unfamiliar with durometer ratings, they indicate how hard a substance is on a numerical scale. Urethane skateboard wheels are usually of 95-100 durometer on the “A” scale, which means they’re really hard. Hard wheels roll fast, don’t deform easily, and wear out slowly.

100A wheels are great for normal skateboarding, but it makes cruising down rough roads like a permanent migraine. Softer wheels, like the 70/78A’s for longboards, give a smoother ride but wear out quickly. You can feel every mind-numbing bump. Last year, I hunted down some 80A Bones Softcores for use on campus, but the wheels are getting old. These replacement Clouds are big 78A’s, which means they are SQUISHY and even more shock absorbing. I am happy.

I find it irritating when casual longboarders try to steer me towards buying a longboard. What’s the fun in that? They are like half my weight, twice the cost, and require much less coordination. There is no inherent danger in riding a longboard and you could never ollie or do tricks. The only bonus is smooth & stable ride, but that’s not an issue with soft wheels (do you even know what your wheels are made of?) and hella fast bearings. NOT INTERESTED, CAPICHE?

