I haven’t worn Vans in about 6 years. The shapes and materials did not appeal to me: Vans shoes were always too flat looking, not sleek enough, or just downright hideous. Back then I didn’t like vulcanized soles, either, so the brand was out of the question. It didn’t help that I thought the logo was crappy, but that’s a whole other issue.

My first pair of Vans Uplands was also the last pair, which means I’ve never owned a pair of those overly popularized Slip Ons (which I can’t stand, unless they come in black perforated leather). For comparison purposes, I present the Cipher Subterranean, a wonderful example of what slip on shoes should look like. The Supra Cuban is another.

Cipher Subterranean

—-
…But Vans has released some great sneaker packs as of late. Frankly, I’d love to get my feet in a pair of these black leather Half Cabs, they are niiiice.

Vans Half Cab Pro Pack

Vans x Supreme – Mountain Edition & Old Skool

Proper x Vans – Holiday Collection 2008

Huf x Vans – Satin Sk8-Hi Pack

Vans Satin Wellesley 2009

Vans Vault Patent Leather Pressed Croc Pack

Vans Croc Pack Spring 2009

