On some days I wake up and accumulate & sift through old/new music.

Some of today’s favorites & top picks*… [Artist – Song1 // Song2 // etc ]

N.E.R.D. – Spaz* // You Know What // Anti Matter // Sooner or Later* // Everyone Nose
Teriyaki Boyz – Zock On! // I Still Love H.E.R.
Rogue Wave – Eyes* (I got this one from watching Heroes Season 1 again!) // Lake Michigan
Flobots – Handlebars // Fight With Tools (I admit, their flow is pretty good)
Santogold – L.E.S. Artistes // Lights Out* // You’ll Find a Way
Gwen Stefani ft. Damian Marley – Now That You Got It [Remix]
Katy Perry – Hot N Cold // Fingerprints
Tyga – Coconut Juice // Hey There Delilah (Remix)
The Ting Tings – Shut Up and Let Me Go // We Walk
Chris Brown – Forever
CJ Stone – Be Loved*
Dream Dance Alliance – A Day at the Beach
Basshunter – Hello There
ATB – Alcarda

—-
I hate how freakin’ MTV always whores out one artist. For several weeks straight they repeatedly play clips from songs or performances or little shorts in between shows & commercials. I picked up Santogold the second she hit the UK Billboard 100, only to find her in the background music in all the Bud Light commercials and embedded in MTV a couple weeks later. I mean it’s good for the artist to get all that hype, but it’s annoying as hell for pre-existing fans. It was the same for M.I.A.

N.E.R.D.‘s new album Seeing Sounds ~ the beats are absolutely sick. I like that Pharrell is actually singing (and not using his blasted falsetto). Thought the album title was odd, but it’s just a reference to Synesthesia:

” Synesthesia [is] a neurologically-based phenomenon in which stimulation of one sensory or cognitive pathway leads to automatic, involuntary experiences in a second sensory or cognitive pathway…In one of the most common forms of synesthesia, grapheme→color synesthesia, individual letters of the alphabet and numbers (collectively referred to as graphemes), are “shaded” or “tinged” with a color…In sound→color synesthesia, individuals experience colors in response to tones or other aspects of sounds…”

How awesome would that be, actually seeing sounds or distinguishing words by colors? I could get used to that. How the beats take over & replace my heartbeat; I love the feel of music anyway.

