I have a new digital camera, an Olympus Stylus 850SW. And while it is nowhere as intuitive to use as my Minolta DiMage Xt, I think I have to give it a chance because I won’t ever find another camera quite like my old one. The photography division of Konica Minolta has ceased the manufacture and distribution of film or digital cameras and all related accessories and products. In short, the brand is obsolete.

Getting used to the new menus and functions is tough. There’s too many (crappy) preset “Best Shot” options; let me adjust the focus/ISO/flash/color settings quickly and  on my own!

Initially I had bought a Casio Exilim Z9, but I had to return it because not only were the menu navigations cumbersome, the lens wasn’t able to focus on anything less than 6″ away. Apparently, I have an insatiable desire for macro photography. 

But hey, the 850SW is pretty nifty. It’s shockproof from a 5ft. drop and is waterproof to a depth of 10ft. The first thing I did was ask my little brother to jump in the pool and take some test run pictures. 


And of course, I had to rinse the camera in fresh water after use (just following directions!) The seals are quite water resistant, surprisingly. The whole waterproof idea is insanely counterintuitive. I hope I don’t go around dunking other people’s cameras in pools. I’m taking it with me everywhere I go this week. I’ve forgotten what it’s like to have a lens as an extension of my own memory.

Purchase price was $270. On another note, I can’t believe I still haven’t seen the new house yet.

